View the full conference agenda

The Spring PIVOT 2021 Conference is generously supported by our Solutions Partners. Visit their sites for additional solutions for your team.

The Family Owners & Next Generation Leadership Conference follows PIVOT on May 13.  LEARN MORE

Registration fees

Registration fees are $99 for members and $150 for non-members. Significant discounts are available for newspapers or newspaper groups that register multiple attendees. LEARN MORE

Premium Gold Sponsors

Premium Silver Sponsors

Tuesday, May 11 - Opening Session

11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. EDT | 10-11:30 a.m. CDT | 9-10:30 a.m. MDT | 8-9:30 a.m. PDT

The Future of Remote Working

With Michelle Gaines McKinnon, compensation, benefits and HRIS manager, The Seattle Times; Camille Olson, partner, Seyfarth Shaw; and Bob Woodward, publisher of TH Media  and vice president, community media, Woodward Communications

For the past year, many newspaper employees have become accustomed to working from home.  And, some papers are seeing push-back from staffers who would like to see that option continue.  During this session, we'll hear from newspaper executives about what went into the decisions they are making. Are their staffs going to continue working from home, return to the office or take part in a hybrid model?  We'll also look at legal issues surrounding this issue and see the results of a recent survey conducted by America's Newspapers.

Take our survey

If you haven't shared your thoughts about the future of remote working, please take two minutes to take our survey: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/ANremote

A one-hour break follows this session.

 

 

Tuesday, May 11 - Session #2

1:30-2:30 p.m. EDT | 12:30-1:30 p.m. CDT | 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. MDT | 10:30-11:30 a.m. PDT

Branded Content, Events and Other Emerging Revenue Opportunities

With Gannett's Lyndsi Lane; Eric Myers, president, Belo + Company; and an additional presenter to be announced

EVENTS: During the pandemic, events were put on hold, but it's an area that newspapers should begin taking a new look at again. Lyndsi Lane, with Gannett's Events and Promotions division, will look at events in the new normal. Join us to see how events can help your community reconnect and generate revenue for your bottom line.

BRANDED CONTENT: It's one of the hottest revenue trends in newspapers — providing advertisers the opportunity to engage with readers through targeted storytelling. Eric Myers is a master at building a solid branded content strategy. Learn from him during this session at PIVOT.

A one-hour break follows this session.

 

Tuesday, May 11 - Session #3

3:30-4:30 p.m. EDT | 2:30-3:30 p.m. CDT | 1:30-2:30 p.m. MDT | 12:30-1:30 p.m. PDT

Legislative Priorities for the News Media

With Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)

During this session, Sen. Cantwell will be discussing her legislative priorities for the news media. At a recent Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship hearing, Sen. Cantwell urged the nominee for deputy administrator of the Small Business Administration to correct issues that have prevented some newspaper and broadcasters from applying for critical assistance from the Paycheck Protection Program.  

She also recently came out strongly in favor of including local news as critical American infrastructure in need of support — highlighting the role of local broadcasters and newspapers as a trusted source of news and information during the pandemic.

And, a  67-page report issued by Sen. Cantwell calls local journalism "irreplaceable."  READ MORE

The conference adjourns for the day after this session. 

WEDNESDAY MORNING: You won't want to miss the opening session on May 12 when John Streitmatter, director of The Leadership Research Institute, will be discussing lessons in leadership.
11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. EDT | 10-11:30 a.m. CDT | 9-10:30 a.m. MDT | 8-9:30 a.m. PDT

Wednesday, May 12 - Session #1

11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. EDT | 10-11:30 a.m. CDT | 9-10:30 a.m. MDT | 8-9:30 a.m. PDT

How Resilient are You?

With John Streitmatter, director, The Leadership Research Institute

Well-known executive leadership coach John Streitmatter will lead a session on developing a skill that is critical for you and your managers — resiliency.  There’s never been a time where resiliency was needed more than right now.  Streitmatter does an amazing job of breaking down the personal attributes that help anyone improve their resiliency, improve effectiveness, reduce stress and become a better manager.

And this session will be different than the typical virtual session — it is highly interactive and will provide you, and your teams, the chance to engage directly with others to build a personal plan to improve resiliency.  It will not only be useful to you directly, but it also will provide you with tools to have deeper conversations with your teams on areas they can develop to navigate these uneven times.

A one-hour break follows this session.

 

Wednesday, May 12 - Session #2

1:30-2:30 p.m. EDT | 12:30-1:30 p.m. CDT | 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. MDT | 10:30-11:30 a.m. PDT

How Local Advertisers Feel about Newspapers: First Look at the Latest Research

With Gordon Borrell, CEO, Borrell Associates

Gordon Borrell will share early results from an ambitious advertising research project being conducted by America’s Newspapers and Borrell Associates.  The study measures where advertisers are spending, what media they are spending with and how they feel about local newspapers and their solutions.

In addition to hearing highlights from that research, learn about new advertising sales materials that will come out of this study for members of America’s Newspapers.

The conference adjourns after this session.

 

Premium Bronze Sponsors

Our Advocate Sponsors