Posted

3:30-4:30 p.m. EDT | 2:30-3:30 p.m. CDT | 1:30-2:30 p.m. MDT | 12:30-1:30 p.m. PDT

Legislative Priorities for the News Media

With Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)

During this session, Sen. Cantwell will be discussing her legislative priorities for the news media. At a recent Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship hearing, Sen. Cantwell urged the nominee for deputy administrator of the Small Business Administration to correct issues that have prevented some newspaper and broadcasters from applying for critical assistance from the Paycheck Protection Program.  

She also recently came out strongly in favor of including local news as critical American infrastructure in need of support — highlighting the role of local broadcasters and newspapers as a trusted source of news and information during the pandemic.

And, a  67-page report issued by Sen. Cantwell calls local journalism "irreplaceable."  READ MORE

The conference adjourns for the day after this session. 

WEDNESDAY MORNING: You won't want to miss the opening session on May 12 when John Streitmatter, director of The Leadership Research Institute, will be discussing lessons in leadership.
11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. EDT | 10-11:30 a.m. CDT | 9-10:30 a.m. MDT | 8-9:30 a.m. PDT

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment