The people of America's Newspapers

Cox Enterprises announces new vice president of risk management

Cox Enterprises has appointed George Markley to assume the role of vice president of risk management. In this role, Markley will take responsibility for providing the strategic vision for the company’s insurance, safety and risk controls.

Roanoke Times names new editor from within

Brian Kelley, a 27-year veteran of The Roanoke (Virginia) Times, will become the newspaper’s editor later this month.

Gannett appoints chief marketing and strategy officer

In his new role, Mayur Gupta will be responsible for driving Gannett's vision and strategy as the company transforms to a subscription-led content business.

Regional publisher named for three Boone newspapers in Alabama

Robert Blankenship has been named the regional publisher of the Andalusia (Alabama) Star-News, Brewton Standard and Atmore Advance and all affiliated print and digital products.

Myrtle Beach Sun News names new senior editor/general manager

Justin M. Madden has been named senior editor / general manager of the Myrtle Beach (South Carolina) Sun News.

New publisher appointed for Kentucky newspapers

Kevin Smith is the new publisher of The Advocate-Messenger in Danville, Kentucky, and The Winchester Sun.

Editor and Publisher hires industry veteran Peter Conti as general manager

Mike Blinder, publisher of E&P Magazine, said Peter Conti’s vast experience in digital journalism, media research, association leadership and even recently on the R&D side, makes him a perfect fit to serve as E&P's new general manager.

Traci Bauer to play key role in APG’s continued print and digital growth

Veteran editor and digital strategist Traci Bauer has been named Adams Publishing Group’s vice president of print and digital content.

New managing editor joins The Stillwater Gazette

Matt DeBow has been named managing editor of The Stillwater (Minnesota) Gazette.  He previously worked as the crime and courts reporter for the Daily Times in Maryville, Tennessee, covering all crime-related news for surrounding Blount County. 

Kendra Majors has been named regional editor of The Greenville (Alabama) Advocate, The Luverne Journal, The Lowndes Signal, The Demopolis Times, The Selma Times-Journal and associated digital and print products.
Adams Publishing Group has announced that longtime executive Mary Jo Villa is stepping aside as president of APG's southern Wisconsin group. She will be succeeded by Orestes Baez.
Barry Holtzclaw, an award-winning editor from the San Francisco Bay Area, is the new editor of The Daily News in Longview, Washington.
In his new role, Jaime Cárdenas will help Gannett newsrooms across the country develop strategies to grow digital subscriptions and foster loyalty with readers.
Dennis Palmer has been named regional publisher of The Greenville (Alabama) Advocate, Luverne Journal, Lowndes Signal and Demopolis Times. Palmer has been publisher of The Selma (Alabama) Times-Journal since 2006 and will continue in that role.
Linnie Pride is taking on the role of distribution and audience development director for the Ohio Division of Adams Publishing Group.
Charlie Callari has been named general manager of Bainbridge Newsmedia, LLC, publisher of The Post-Searchlight (Bainbridge, Georgia), Bainbridge Living, and its affiliated publications and websites. He succeeds Mark Pope, who remains at his request in his former position of managing printing and production for The Post-Searchlight, and the affiliated and non-affiliated publications the newspaper prints.
Brendan J. Lyons, a veteran journalist whose stories have ranged from police misconduct to ethical misdeeds at the state Capitol, has been named managing editor for enterprise and investigations at the Times Union in Albany, New York.
Anthony McCartney, The Associated Press’ West Coast entertainment editor who as a reporter covered the legal aftermath of Michael Jackson’s death and many celebrity trials, has been appointed the news cooperative’s global entertainment and lifestyles editor.
Chatham Asset Management, LLC has announced that Tony Hunter will become chief executive officer of McClatchy Company, following the local news company's emergence from Chapter 11 and the completion of its court-approved sale to Chatham, in September.
The Washington Post's new managing editor for diversity and inclusion will be in charge of the paper's coverage of race, ethnicity and identity, as well as improved recruitment, retention and career advancement for journalists of color.
Bill Parsons, publisher of the Porterville (California) Recorder, has announced plans to retire.  His last day with the Recorder will be in August.
Effective next week, the Times Observer of Warren, Pennsylvania, and The Minot Daily News in North Dakota will have new publishers. Both newspapers are published by Ogden Newspapers.
Granite Publications has announced the passing of Jim Chionsini, president and founder of Granite Publications.
The New York Times Company has announced that its chief operating officer, Meredith Kopit Levien, will succeed Mark Thompson as president and chief executive officer, effective Sept. 8.  Kopit Levien, 49, will join The Times Company’s board and Thompson will step down as an officer and director of The Times Company.