Columbia University announces the 105th annual Pulitzer Prizes


The 105th class of Pulitzer Prize winners in Journalism, Books, Drama and Music were announced Friday by Columbia University, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

In addition, the Pulitzer board also announced that Darnella Frazier, the teenager who filmed the murder of George Floyd, would receive a special citation.

The 2021 Pulitzer Prize winners in Journalism are: 

Public Service
The New York Times

Breaking News Reporting
Staff of the Star Tribune, Minneapolis, Minn.

Investigative Reporting
Matt Rocheleau, Vernal Coleman, Laura Crimaldi, Evan Allen and Brendan McCarthy of The Boston Globe

Explanatory Reporting
Ed Yong of The Atlantic


Andrew Chung, Lawrence Hurley, Andrea Januta, Jaimi Dowdell and Jackie Botts of Reuters

Local Reporting
Kathleen McGrory and Neil Bedi of the Tampa Bay Times

National Reporting
Staffs of The Marshall Project;, Birmingham; IndyStar, Indianapolis; and the Invisible Institute, Chicago

International Reporting
Megha Rajagopalan, Alison Killing and Christo Buschek of BuzzFeed News, New York

Feature Writing
Nadja Drost, freelance contributor, The California Sunday Magazine


Mitchell S. Jackson, freelance contributor, Runner’s World

Michael Paul Williams of the Richmond (Va.) Times-Dispatch

Wesley Morris of The New York Times

Editorial Writing
Robert Greene of the Los Angeles Times

Editorial Cartooning
No award

Breaking News Photography
Photography Staff of Associated Press

Feature Photography
Emilio Morenatti of Associated Press

Audio Reporting
Lisa Hagen, Chris Haxel, Graham Smith and Robert Little of National Public Radio

Read details about the awards presented


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment