Alan Fisco elected president of America's Newspapers; six directors elected to board


Alan Fisco, president of The Seattle Times Company, was elected president of America's Newspapers today.

Members elected officers for 2020-21 on Wednesday afternoon, Oct. 7, during this year's virtual conference (PIVOT 2020).

In addition to Fisco, the following officers were elected:

  • Immediate Past President: Chris Reen, president, The Gazette, Colorado Springs, Colorado, and publisher, The Denver Gazette, Denver, Colorado
  • Vice President: Nat Lea, president and CEO, WEHCO Media, Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Treasurer: Cameron Nutting Williams, regional publisher, Ogden Newspapers, Frederick, Maryland

Pictured above: Chris Reen, Nat Lea and Cameron Nutting Williams

Board of Directors

Six industry executives were elected to three-year terms on the Board of Directors:

  • Scott Champion, CEO, Champion Media Company, Mooresville, North Carolina
  • Mike Gebhart, president and CEO, Southern Community Newspapers, Lawrenceville, Georgia
  • Matthew Gray, senior vice president and general counsel, Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc., Montgomery, Alabama
  • Camille Olson, partner, Seyfarth Shaw, Chicago, Illinois
  • Tim Prince, senior vice president, Boone Newspapers, Columbiana, Alabama
  • Heidi Wright, chief operating officer and publisher, The Bulletin, EO Media Group, Salem, Oregon

Pictured above: Scott Champion, Mike Gebhart, Matthew Gray, Camille Olson, Tim Prince and Heidi Wright

Directors remaining on the board include:

  • Bill Barker, SE regional president, USA TODAY Network and LocaliQ, Naples, Florida
  • John Bussian, attorney, The Bussian Law Firm, Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Michael Fishman, publisher, Citizen Tribune, Morristown, Tennessee
  • Stacey Hill, executive vice president and chief operating officer, newspapers, News-Press & Gazette Company, St. Joseph, Missouri
  • Brian Jarvis, president, WV News, Clarksburg, West Virginia
  • Ted McGrew, vice president, sales, Southern Lithoplate, Youngsville, North Carolina
  • Matt McMillan, CEO, Press Publications, White Bear Lake, Minnesota
  • Jeff Patterson, president - Central Division, Adams Publishing Group, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • James Paxton, president and CEO, Paxton Media Group, Paducah, Kentucky
  • John Rung, president and CEO, Shaw Media, Crystal Lake, Illinois
  • Jason Taylor, president, Gannett VENTURES, Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Judi Terzotis, president and publisher, The Times-Picayune | Advocate, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Emily Walsh, publisher, Observer Media Group, Sarasota, Florida
  • Leonard Woolsey, president, Southern Newspapers, Inc., and president and publisher, The Daily News, Galveston, Texas
America's Newspapers, Alan Fisco, Chris Reen, Nat Lea, Cameron Nutting Williams, Scott Champion, Mike Gebhart, Matthew Gray, Camille Olson, Tim Prince, Heidi Wright