Twitter users were greeted early Saturday with an ultimatum from the social media app: Subscribe to the platform’s new premium service or lose a popular account security feature.
A pop-up message warned users they will lose the ability to secure their accounts via text message two-factor authentication unless they pay $8 a month to subscribe to Twitter Blue.
The message said that starting March 19, users who don’t subscribe will be locked out of their accounts until they remove the security feature.
Here are some questions and answers about why Twitter made this change and alternative ways to secure your account:
No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here