Actionable strategies and effective solutions

Revenue is always important.

But in today's environment, newspapers need creative solutions that engage customers and deliver results for advertisers.

America's Newspapers Revenue Academy is an intensive two-day session designed to provide sales leaders with actionable strategies and effective solutions to implement with their teams. Each session is led by an industry expert who addresses the core issues and how to take them from idea to execution.

This isn't about theory; it's about real-world results.

The program is designed for ad directors, as well as revenue and digital managers and sellers.

Registration fees:  $99 (Members) and $150 (Non-Members)
Discounts are available for multiple attendees from the same newspaper or newspaper group.

Questions?

Patty Slusher: pslusher@newspapers.org or 847-282-9850, ext. 102

The Workforce Management Academy is generously supported by our Gold and Silver Solutions Partners. Visit their sites for additional solutions for your team.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Silver Sponsors: Mather Economics, Modulist and Seyfarth Shaw

Wednesday, February 24

NEW Year, NEW Revenue? You bet!

11 a.m.-Noon EST | 10-11 a.m. CST | 9-10 a.m. MST | 8 -9 a.m. PST

With Ryan Dohrn, president and founder, Brain Swell Media

Global media sales adviser Ryan Dohrn shares 21 practical revenue ideas that any newspaper can launch right away.  Each idea is proven to work in any market of any size.  And, you will not need to add staff or spend a bundle to launch the idea.  From specialized eNewsletters to marketing impact reporting to expertorial to ask the experts videos, come prepared to make some money!

A 15-minute break follows this session.

Community-Based Digital Marketing Agency

12:15-1:15 p.m. EST | 11:15 a.m.-12:15 p.m. CST | 10:15-11:15 a.m. MST | 9:15-10:15 a.m. PST

With Mike Martoccia, vice president of digital sales and marketing, Adams Publishing Group

From mid-size markets to smaller communities, learn best practices on white-labeling an internal digital marketing agency, expanding revenue and customer bases, and which categories are "on fire" as we enter 2021. Presenter Mike Martoccia will review how APG's community-based markets have raised the bar when it comes to full-service solutions.

A 45-minute break follows this session.

Getting Noticed: Sales and Marketing Techniques to Build Your Brand and Your Revenue

2-3 p.m. EST | 1-2 p.m. CST | Noon-1 p.m. MST | 11 a.m.-Noon PST

With Mike Blinder, publisher, Editor & Publisher

Mike Blinder, chief evangelist officer of Editor & Publisher and media sales veteran, leads a spirited session on tools local sales organizations can use to enhance their position with advertisers and grow sales. He will highlight strategies used to turn E&P around from a tired, print-centric publication to a true multi-media sales and marketing machine. And, these same strategies can be implemented to boost any newspaper sales team including:

  • Data-driven marketing.
  • Solution-based sales processes.
  • Creating new, result-oriented “lead generation” marketing solutions that offer a great ROI.

A 30-minute break follows this session.

Increase Revenue AND Audience through the Power of Branded Content — Part 1

3:30-4:45 p.m. EST | 2:30-3:45 p.m. CST | 1:30-2:45 p.m. MST | 12:30-1:45 p.m. PST

With Sean Haley, director of advertising strategy and creative, Minneapolis Star Tribune, and Chris Van Duyne, president, King + Columbus (the full-service marketing and advertising agency owned by Evening Post Industries)

Branded Content is one of the hottest areas for newspapers to generate new revenue.  This two-part session will give you the roadmap of how to get your program up and going and grow revenue and audience. Part 2 takes place tomorrow from 2-3 p.m. EST | 1-2 p.m. CST | Noon-1 p.m. MST | 11 a.m.-Noon PST.

Conference adjourns for the day following this session.

Thursday, February 25

Budgets are NOT locked in!
Be Prepared to Grab Your Share

11 a.m.-Noon EST | 10-11 a.m. CST | 9-10 a.m. MST | 8-9 a.m. PST

With Jim Brown, president, Borrell Associates, Inc.

Jim Brown from Borrell Associates will help you channel advertisers and focus in on competitive media to win over new customers AND grab a larger share of marketing budgets.  This fast-paced presentation is chock-full of data and sound sales advice to help you open the door to new customers and focus on the things they are buying the most. 

A 15-minute break follows this session.

5 Steps to Drive BIG Revenue in 2021

12:15-1:15 p.m. EST | 11:15 a.m.-12:15 p.m. CST | 10:15-11:15 a.m. MST | 9:15-10:15 a.m. PST

With Julie Foley and Liz Crider Huff, directors of affiliate success, Second Street

Newspapers can drive HUGE revenue with promotions.  Join us to learn how to craft a revenue plan to bring in new dollars throughout 2021!  Find out how to develop powerful recurring revenue campaigns, take your Best Of to the next level, and ensure success with every potential advertiser in your market. 

A 45-minute break follows this session.

Increase Revenue AND Audience through the Power of Branded Content — Part 2

2-3 p.m. EST | 1-2 p.m. CST | Noon-1 p.m. MST | 11 a.m.-Noon PST

With Rachel Watkins, senior marketing manager, Belo + Company, and Jennifer Chininis, vice president, inbound marketing, Belo + Company

Branded Content is one of the hottest areas for newspapers to generate new revenue.  In Part 2 of this session, our presenters will give you the roadmap of how to get your program up and going and grow revenue and audience.

A 30-minute break follows this session.

The Revenue Idea Exchange

3:30-5 p.m. EST | 2:30-4 p.m. CST | 1:30-3 p.m. MST | 12:30-2 p.m. PST

Moderated by Mike Martoccia, vice president of digital sales and marketing, Adams Publishing Group, and Jim Stevenson, owner and publisher, The Spinal Column Media Group

This 90-minute exchange will be an open forum for you to give ideas and get ideas.  Focus?  REVENUE, anyway, anyhow. 

The conference adjourns following this session.